Friends of Jefferson-Madison Regional Library

About Friends of the Library

The five local jurisdictions that support the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library system cover the basic services and programs for library patrons. A major purpose of the Friends of the Library is to generate additional funding for such things as:

  • summer reading programs for children and young adults, including rewards and small “achievement” prizes
  • funding for enhancement of the various collections of the library system (books, audio-visual materials, etc.)
  • additional funding for each library’s individual needs and support of local book review programs
  • providing major grants when new branches are opened (e.g., Crozet, Greene)
  • provided a major grant for the acquisition of a new Bookmobile in 2017
  • annual financial support to the Virginia Festival of the Book
  • funding parking at Water Street Garage downtown
  • providing the funding for the monthly book review/newsletter Book Page

Endowment Fund

In July of 1992, the Friends of the Jefferson Madison Regional Library created the Library Endowment Fund with the Charlottesville Albemarle Community Foundation. Starting with an initial gift of $ 20,000 from the Friends in honor of Jane and Art Hess, long term volunteers with the Friends and the “heart and soul” of the annual Book Sale, the Endowment Fund has grown from that initial $ 20,000 to well over $950,000. The growth represents three sizable bequests, annual gifts from the Friends and countless donations from individuals and groups over the intervening 15 years.

The purpose of the Fund is to support the charitable and educational purposes of the Friends and its affiliated agencies, including the library. The Fund is not used to replace existing and future public funding for JMRL or its State Aid book budget.

Directors, Officers and Staff

Marc Boston: Director. second term ends 2024
Stephanie Commander: Director.  third term ends 2024
Wendy Craig: Recording Secretary.  second term ends 2023
Nancy Damon: Corresponding Secretary.  fourth term ends 2023
Pat Dogil: Director.  third term ends 2024
Proal Heartwell: President.  second term ends 2023
Grier McCain: Director.  third term ends 2024
Peter McIntosh: Treasurer.  no term limit
Ted Magilley: Director. fourth term ends 2024
Ashely Schneider: Director. first term ends 2023
Bill Schrader: Vice President.  second term ends 2023
Martha Topel: Director. first term ends 2024
Deborah Willenborg: Director.  second term ends 2023

David Plunkett: Regional Library Director. Ex officio member of the Friends’ Board
Peter Manno: Book Sale Manager
Austin Connor: Assistant Book Sale Manager

Board Meetings

Friends of JMRL Board meetings are at the Gordon Avenue Library at 5:30pm. The board meets four times a year, on the third Thursday of the month. The Board’s next meeting is on Sept 16, 2021.

Past Board Meeting Minutes: (PDF)
September 2022
June 2022
April 2022
January 2022
September 2021
June 2021
April 2021
Jan 2021
Sept 2020
June 2020
January 2020
September 2019
June 2019
September 2018
June 2018
April 2018
January, 2018
September, 2017
June, 2017
April 18, 2017
January 19, 2017
September 15, 2016
June, 2016
April 2016
January, 2016


Summer 2022 (PDF)
Spring 2020 (PDF)
Fall 2019 (PDF)
Spring 2019 (PDF)
Fall 2018 (PDF)
Spring 2018 (PDF)
Fall 2017 (PDF)
Spring 2017 (PDF)
Fall 2016 (PDF)


Friends of JMRL Bylaws June 2019 (PDF)